FT 2100Z

L@@king for info for your amplifier

Moderators: KE7GUY, KC9FOZ, EA5/G0KOM, KG6JEV

FT 2100Z

Postby GW8JOY » Sun Aug 16, 2009 9:06 am

Hi Guys I have problem with an FT2100Z - it appears to have a shorted mains transformer primary. The beast blows fuses on switch on. I have disconected the secondary winding but no joy.Can I still get a new one from Yaesu or is t a rewind job ? any ideas welcome.
Terry Bowen
GW8JOY
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:39 pm
Location: UK

FL-2100Z

Postby Ghostwriter » Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:37 am

Hello Terry,

You did not mention whether your FL-2100Z RF Amplidier was purchased new or used and had been configured for the proper Primary A.C. Voltage wiring for the U.K.

Dan
WA9WVX
Ghostwriter
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Here, There & Everywhere

FT 2100Z

Postby GW8JOY » Mon Aug 17, 2009 7:27 am

Hi Dan, This is connected for 240volts and is a secondhand unit which was worklng ok until recently.
Terry Bowen
GW8JOY
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:39 pm
Location: UK

FL-2100Z J.V. XFMR

Postby Ghostwriter » Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:12 pm

Hi Terry,

If Yaesu no longer stocks and sells the replacement High Voltage Transformers, I did a quick check between the FL-2100 "B" & "Z" RF Amplifier versions and the only apparent difference is the Frequency Band Coverage. Both RF Amplifiers use the same High Voltage Transformers so here's an alternative OEM supplier's web link:

http://www.harbachelectronics.com/

73,

Dan
WA9WVX
Ghostwriter
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 11:03 pm
Location: Here, There & Everywhere

Postby GW8JOY » Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:18 pm

ok Dan,thanks very much for your efforts, at least I now know I can replace it if all else fails.

73es de Terry
Terry Bowen
GW8JOY
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:39 pm
Location: UK


Return to Amplifiers QRO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests