2100Z input capacitors

L@@king for info for your amplifier

Moderators: KE7GUY, KC9FOZ, EA5/G0KOM, KG6JEV

2100Z input capacitors

Postby doehme » Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:03 am

Hi All,

I'm hoping there's someone who's changed input caps on the 2100Z who wouldn't mind answering a few questions on some specifics of the procedure. Unfortunately I live remotely and don't have any other local help/advisors so need some remote assistance.

Some background................ I recently bought a 2100Z that presents high SWR to the exciter. It's fine on 160, 40, 17 and 10 but the others are way high. I'd like to at least restore 80 and 20 to a useable state. Some of the redish brown caps when you take the back plate off, (are those the input caps??) are a little darkened but not totally black or anything. Just some are slightly darker than the others.

I reckon I've identified which ones are for which band - 160m at the far right and up the bands as we go left. Correct?

Are they the only caps that need to be replaced of are there others further in the amp that need looking at as well.

Thanks

Dene
VK5DO
doehme
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:12 am

Re: 2100Z input capacitors

Postby N2NF » Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:57 am

Dene,

Before you start replacing caps, did you try adjusting the input coils for the bands in question. There is an adjustment procedure in the manual for the 2100Z.

Good Luck,

Bob, N2NF
N2NF
N2NF
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:37 pm

Re: 2100Z input capacitors

Postby doehme » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:11 am

The 2100Z doesn't have adjustable coils. Wish it was that easy. You're thinking of the 2100B.

Dene
doehme
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:12 am


Return to Amplifiers QRO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest